Burnham

I've been meaning to go here for quite a while. I looked at the tide tables and saw that high tide would be at just after one o'clock, plenty of time for me to get there. I sorted out filters and stuff so I'd get the best long exposures of the sea swirling around the lighthouse and set off. I arrived at the esplanade at just after midday and saw that the tide was still out so I went off to get myself a coffee and a slice of cake while it came in. 

An hour later I returned and sorted out my camera and tripod and set off along the beach. I was surprised to sea that the tide was little different. Despite the huge range of the tide in the Bristol Channell, my plans had gone spectacularly wrong. It's a neap tide tomorrow and the tide only rises to 9 metres instead of about 14 metres. Ah well, it's a nice day and the light and clouds look good so it might not be a spectacular image but it's made a good blip. I wasn't sure which one I liked best so I've added a second image as and extra.

I'll have to check the tide more carefully and do it again, it's only a little more than an hour up the road.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.