Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Two accidents and an emergency involving chocolate

Arrived home last night about midnight. Although there was a lot of confusion about what time it actually was. As I sat in bed blipping, I noticed the time was 2:30am. I'd taken the clock to Barça, so was that Barcelona time? Or British Summer Time? Or British not summer time? The house swappers had changed some clocks but not others. I decided just to go to sleep and put the radio on in the morning.

An email from my cousin last night informed me that Uncle A had had a fall on Blackford Hill on Sunday, and had been taken to A&E by a family who witnessed the fall. He has a badly broken shoulder bone, and they were going to operate today. However, this was postponed, as today's surgeon decided he'd leave it to the expert on Thursday. I went to visit him this afternoon. Poor Uncle A. His shoulder is badly swollen and he just kept saying how stupid he was, tripping and falling. But it could happen to anyone. And it could have been worse.

We had already arranged to meet up with a friend, M, an Aussie who bravely did exchange teaching for a year in Edinburgh a few years ago. She's since then worked all over the world in International Schools. She is currently in Tanzania, and has succeeded in persuading us to visit, with tales of the wonderful blips - and that's just the wildlife and birdlife. It's definitely on the cards... I'm hoping I've persuaded M to join blip - there are no blippers there!

We met up with Leo and his mum, Z, who also taught with M. We were at the Gallery of Modern Art Modern One Cafe, but unfortunately, a combination of wobbly table and a brief lapse in concentration, meant that the bowl of hot soup tipped on to Leo's leg. OW! He was very good, didn't bawl and scream too much, and the staff bandaged it up. Z was unsure of whether to take him to Sick Kids or take him home, but she went home and he slept. I've just got a text to say that she eventually took him to hospital as it blistered, but he seems fine now.

K and A came to collect M and stayed for tea (pizza from our super wee local shop) and we had a great old chinwag about traveling, blipping, iPad apps and more. Those three have been everywhere. K & A have been to visit M in Tanzania, and just raved about the trip. SOLD!

This shot is of A&E - I really liked the clouds - they seemed to fit the rather stressful day. I had brought an Easter Lindt rabbit to Uncle A (as well as Wether's Originals and grapes) but he didn't seem over enthusiastic, so I wasted no time putting it back in the bag to bring home again. On the way, I decided I really really needed some chocolate. It's quite difficult to break off an Easter Bunny's ears on the bus. I couldn't just whack the carrier bag on the seat in front, which would have done the trick - but they'd've all wanted a bit then! But I managed to summon up superhuman strength to break them off quietly. Nobody noticed.

What a day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.