Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A Cold Day Out

Months ago I bought one of those Amazon Local Vouchers for a day’s Photography Course in South Queensferry. I had fingers crossed for half decent weather. Didn’t work, of course, but at least we could actually see the Forth Bridge, and it wasn’t raining. But it was SOOO cold. That wind whooshed straight from Siberia, across seas and oceans, whipped up the Firth of Forth and did not stop until it got to my head! I have never been so cold.

Actually, I didn’t learn anything photographic. But I did learn that one bus takes 40 minutes and the other one takes about 15 minutes. I wasn’t sure where it went, as I’ve only got the train there, which stops at Dalmeny, requiring a hike down many hundreds of steps. And of course, worse - much worse - back up again.

However, the GPS on my phone proved helpful again and I got off at the right place. I now know that buses come in at the other end of town, on the same level as town, so that is a great discovery.

Fortunately we spent the whole morning in a cafe while the tutor went over all things photographic. But as I use manual settings anyway, it was a wee bit of a waste of time. We then stood at a close for ages, in the biting wind, while he talked more. I stood behind a large man, out of the wind a bit. Then we went for lunch.

I shared a table with a charming young woman who had a new SLR and was taking copious notes. I told her about blip, of course, so maybe we have a new recruit. I really appreciated the hot soup.

Then we stood right out on the harbour, in the freezing wind while he went over white balance, histograms, spot metering, etc etc and went over all the other things from the morning ... I couldn’t help quietly moaning to myself in my coldness. I couldn’t concentrate, and I just wanted him to stop. Eventually he gave us 20 minutes to go and get a photo, on manual settings. I cheated and used the ‘art’ setting on my camera - great for grey days.

I have just arrived home, and now have a hot water bottle stuffed up my jumper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.