Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Stay-at-home day.

No Zoo talk today, but I have heard Iain Valentine (Director of Pandas) on the Radio 4 a couple of times recently, leading up to the ‘breeding window’ for the pandas. I think maybe he’d rather just get on with whatever they do (and I know) and not have the publicity, in case it fails again.

If yesterday was dreich, today is dreicher, as it involves mizzle as well. I contemplated, briefly, popping down to the Senior Screen to see ‘The Butler’ and have a free cuppa and biscuit - haven’t been for ages - but decided that I didn’t want to see the Butler quite enough. Also, a parcel that I’ve been awaiting arrived. A new Kindle for JR! Yes, for once, JR is to have the most up to date techie kit in the house. It only took me minutes to set up (unlike the phone) and some new novels await. Just need a nice holiday now, to get a few books read. And that’s organised too.

Amazing how the day flies by when you mooch around snacking and drinking coffees and watching ‘How to train your puppy’ YouTube videos and catching up with a few recorded programmes on TV. Last night’s Silk, Whatever Happened to Spitting Image? (I missed out on the political references in the 80s, being in NZ), an old John Wayne film, even an Inspector Clouseau mystery - which I dozed through.

After I did a token holiday packing (chucked a few clothes in my suitcase), I wandered round the house looking for a blip. These wee chaps (they’re about 13cms tall) were bought in Prague years ago. They have survived several clearout attempts and a flitting. I like them.

Got an email this morning from a pal in NZ who has just done a parachute jump!! This friend- and she won’t mind me saying so - is no spring chicken. She has had 2 knee replacements, 1 shoulder replacement, is waiting for operation on second shoulder, and has a fused ankle. And here’s me, a tad worried about a couple of tame activities on our upcoming holiday... Joanne you are awesome!

Tomorrow I have an exciting photographic day planned. And if this haar is still here then, you’ll hear me wailing down in Cornwall!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.