Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Sagrada Familia!

Awoke just before the alarm at 7am- my old trick of banging my head (gently) on the pillow the required number of times. With the alarm as a backup!

We were out at the nearest cafe by 8am, having our last continental breakfast before going back to auld claes and porridge. We have been on an exhaustive search for custard filled croissants, which we had in our first day and haven't been able to find again.

I happened to spot the wee cafe clock, which did not say 8:05, but 9:05! I know the clocks went forward yesterday for British Summer Time *what a joke* but had assumed the Europeans didn't bother. In fact, I'd read The Welshman in Budapest's blog, and he mentioned that he was only 3 hours ahead now, not 4. And, of course, we're not watching any TV.

All this doesn't really matter... Except if you are getting a plane! So just as well we have a late afternoon departure.

Booking for Sagrada online is the way to go! We waltzed past the crowds already there and went straight in! We've both been there before, in 1993, when it was like a building site inside, and open to the elements, but still spectacular. I was here again in 1998, and the roof was on. But this is quite a change! Amazing. Hard to take a photo to show the grandeur, even with stitching a few shots together, so I've chosen just a wee corner. I rather liked the sweet little wooden crosses on the pillars.

We also liked the wee school built beside the temple, and I tried a stitch up of it with the towers behind. The models and explanations of Gaudi's inspirations from nature are also unmissable. All in all, well worth the wait. And well worth the queue, but I'm glad we didn't have to!

On the way back, we popped in to a cafe (now there's a surprise) to have our last churros and hot chocolate.

Goodbye Barcelona. We love you.

The diet starts tomorrow!

PS Took millions lots of photos. Some more HERE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.