Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

How still..

Well, no, this isn't Bethlehem, but it was still and empty and quite beautiful.

Originally I'd planned to get a 'festive' shot of St Lawrence's because for many years it was decorated for Christmas with what was, in essence, the top half of a huge kissing bough - minus the mistletoe!  A wonderful, old-fashioned Christmas decoration which got pushed out in the 19th century by the Christmas tree.  We had a kissing bough at home because my dad thought it fun to make one, but then we were greedy, we had a Christmas tree too!

However, back to St Lawrence's.  The decoration I remembered has been ditched and a small tree instituted instead.  Less pagan, you know.  But I hope this still counts as a festive shot, despite the stillness.

The rest of my day was a wash out.  In the cold, dark and rain this afternoon I had to get to the doctors' for a shingles vax.  Not an easy journey on buses and when I got there I was told I couldn't have it because I'm on the wrong drugs and they would have to order in something special.  In January.  Well, I don't mind being special but I'd rather it was for a slightly more exciting reason ;))

Many thanks to Laurie54 for hosting MM this week - and have a good evening, all  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.