Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Christmas lanterns

Today has been extremely dark and drippy, so I decided to use it to look at and blip the new artwork in the Cathedral.  Winchester Cathedral, rather wonderfully, now has an Artist-Priest (Revd Gill Sakakini) who this Christmas has altered the usual childrens' lantern parade because of covid and made the above installation with the simple lanterns crafted by local children and carrying their messages.  The lighting is fabulous, melting from blue to purple to red and back again.

Sadly I had all of 5 minutes to blip this.  Having thought I had the info on times I needed, almost as soon as I got in we were being shepherded back out again.  And, disappointingly, just as I was starting to explore more unusual angles (see Extras). 

When I got home I tried correcting the perspective on the above, but to be honest I think you lose that breath-taking soaring height, making it in danger of looking like an Oxford Street department store, so here it is SOOC or as good as.

Finally, thank you all so much for your lovely reaction to yesterday's blip - for all your wonderful comments, hearts and stars.  I am truly grateful.

Have a good beginning to the week  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.