800,000

The other day I got to talk with a Nigerian colleague. She felt like she had the flu, she suspected she had Covid. She mentioned that the US had done terribly with Covid and, oddly, I'd forgotten how horribly we had done. 

Hospitals in my state are nearing capacity. We have 69.4% vaccination. 

My workplace is having a happy hour event tonight. I was invited personally and offered a ride (with masks and open windows). I contacted the location to see if they had an outdoor seating area and, hearing that they don't right now, declined. Apparently I wasn't the only one concerned - at the last minute they changed it to an outdoor venue. Too late for me but I'm glad the people who go will be safer. 

The night I found the rabbit I had five carrots out and none were eaten. The next night someone ate three bulbs - and the carrots. The next night, everything was protected by an animatronic wolf backed up by a motion sensor owl, and the carrots were eaten. I told the Nigerian colleague about the rabbit and said I was perfectly happy to pay extortion money if we could just come to an agreement. It was her first laugh all day. 

She is Nigerian, but a US government employee and fully vaccinated, as is her family. 

I know, I know, we're all so tired of it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.