A day in the life

By Shelling

Kalmar on ice

My last visit at the physiotherapist this morning was a mixture of pain and good feedback. Since September I've had problems with muscular knots in my left shoulder, probably because I was playing a lot during that period and was a bit sloppy about my posture. At my age such behaviour won't pass without bad effects on the muscles in the back, or wherever I'm  doing weird things with my body while rehearsing. The knot(s), besides hurting, also makes my left arm go numb and tingle, like when the arm "goes to sleep" as we say. Very unpleasant. These things takes a long time to heal but the good news is that the therapist noticed that the training I've done so far has made my muscles stronger in the damaged part of the back and the theory is that they eventually will help to create a better over all balance in the neck, shoulders and back. The muscle massage is a really painful event too but parts of my shoulders that hurt during the last treatment was fine today, so at least I'm doing something right.

This evening was spent in Kalmar to listen to a poetry reading at a new stage for music and "spoken word", same place as where me and my friend Bengt was playing some weeks ago. Five poets read some of their work and a pianist was playing pieces that tied the different sections together in a nice way. I had a nice evening and hope these evenings will continue. The finishing event was quite interesting: the pianist was playing a piece of pianomusic and we, the audience (of twenty people) was asked to remember the first word or sentence that came to mind while he was playing, after he stopped everyone who wanted to share, said what they were thinking and that was written down by one of the poets. The pianist was memorising and choosing three of the words we said and made an improvisation based on those words, lastly the poet had put together a kind of poem using the words we told her. A nice way to show how impulse creates ideas that then can become new ideas, and so on.

Kalmar has had its first skating rink on the main square between the town hall and the cathedral, not too well visited this evening but it's there

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.