Capital adventures

By marchmont

Christmas magic

It was an odd kind of day.  I swam and then wrapped the Christmas presents.  There are very few but it always takes longer than I think it will. The rest of the stamps arrived so that's all the cards posted now.

I couldn't go out until the roofers came.  When they did, just before midday it took them 30minutes to re-roof the shed.  Worth every minute.  And they got a good day to do it.  It was very warm outside, about 10 deg.  And the decorator delivered the paint charts.  More choosing to be done now.

Once released I strolled to Margiotta for food for tonight, and tomorrow.  L and I have cancelled tomorrow's lunch out in town to be safe but we are eating here, an almost carry out. I tried hard not to listen to any of the News today.  I am fed up hearing the same news over and over so no 'Women's Hour' or WATO.  I did hear the news from France though. I suspect that will mean C, P and the kids won't be coming home for Christmas.

I had a go at fixing my poor duck. I thought it was wood. It is ceramic and when it slipped out of my hands the other day it became footless.  I think it may be done for.

Went to the Manor via Marchmont to deliver a couple of cards and buy a present. At Mum's wrapped another present, set up a fire and heated up the dinner.  It was actually very enjoyable. 

My trepidation had reduced by the time we set off for the Festival Theatre. We were there in good tome to avoid the crowds although I suspect that there weren't any: the five rows in front of us were pretty much empty. The evening was fantastic, the dancing and the music amazing and Mum really enjoyed herself.  It would have been even better without the couple sitting next to me, who had no idea how to behave and were well old enough to know better. It was a good evening especially as I'm not sure how much longer Mum will be able to do these things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.