1309 debuts

What a sight! Today is the first public excursion of the Western Maryland Scenic Railroad's engine 1309. It was built by Baldwin Locomotive Works in 1949 for the Chesapeake and Ohio Railway and hauled coal until 1956. It was at a museum in Baltimore until 2014, when the scenic railroad purchased it and began restoration work. It began testing last month.

I didn't know it was debuting today. I was only outside on my lunch break for a quick walk and photo. I saw smoke downtown and heard the whistle and knew I had to get photos. Tomorrow I am going to try to get a shot of it in action from the trail that runs along the track.

It is only running about halfway to Frostburg as part of the Polar Express excursion. It won't start doing the full run until next year, though it did make a test run to Frostburg about a week ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.