Bejewelled

After the clear day yesterday with its lovely sunset , it was quite a surprise to open the blinds to a misty Meadows with jewelled spiders’ webs clinging to the gate posts.

The mist hung about for quite some time and it felt very damp as I lugged a heavy Christmas Cake down to the gallery in Dundas Street. The sun won through and being low in the sky was blinding as I walked home.

It feels strange to me that after 2 years of being exposed to Covid and taking it all in my stride, I should feel threatened now with this omicron variant. Either I have just reason or the media have done their job and scared me witless. I didn’t take the bus today even though the cake seemed to get heavier with every step and I didn’t grace M&S for a coffee en route.

I was going to drop off a birthday present to my granddaughter this afternoon but was prevented by a phone call saying that after her sister had tested +ve on Monday , the family were all isolating except for my daughter who is an NHS key worker and can get out provided she has a negative flow test each day.

Christmas may yet be cancelled if there are more +ve tests in the family, provided they can get their hands on lateral flow test kits which seem to be scarce in this neck of the woods. Meanwhile, down town, the Christmas shenanigans continue unabated and we have Hogmanay hordes to look forward to in a fortnight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.