Escaping

The last Sunday before Christmas and I am frozen into inactivity,almost literally. It’s the kind of day that would welcome a comfortable settee in front of a blazing log fire. It is not happening here.

I have organised some presents, had coffee with Daughter#2 who will leave this week to spend Christmas in her Rannoch house and phoned Daughter #5 who leaves tomorrow for Christmas in France. The phone call to Glasgow daughter will take place on Ewan’s 9th birthday on Friday before she leaves to spend the Festive week in Bath. Somehow it feels like an analogy to the rats leaving a sinking ship -me!

I passed this doorway with the foliage making a determined effort to escape (a bit like my offspring) on my way home from a visit to Tesco’s mulled wine aisle. I know, I know, I could make it myself but it’s too much bother for this lazy hostess. I want hassle free entertaining on Boxing Day. There will be enough to do without watching bits of orange bouncing about in a pan of hot wine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.