All Change

The madness that is British weather. One day we are slipsliding on frozen pavements in a temperature of -6° and then the next day we are almost continental in 12° with no evidence, at least in Edinburgh , of snow or ice. I must say it was such a relief to feel reasonably warm again in the house. The forecast is playing cat and mouse with us as the snow is supposed to return at the weekend.

My 6monthly dental check up, due this morning, is no longer a 10minutes walk away over the Meadows. My dentist relocated to an NHS dental practice at the other side of town when the conveniently near one went private and so I have quite an expedition to get there. But get there I did to endure the pointy tool, probing until my gums bleed and then the subsequent lecture on flossing. It’s all been happening for more years than I care to remember, the probing and the lecturing. I just smile, nod in agreement with what is being said, pay at reception, get an appointment for 6 months and flee the premises with huge relief at having escaped further torture.

Later I took tea with my neighbours after acting as a postie with my Christmas card to them. I have had, I think, only one delivery of mail in the last 2 weeks. Usually, a week before Christmas Day, I have a stash cards adorning every surface, but this year, nada. It may be that no one is sending cards or it may be that POs have built up such a mountain of undelivered mail that they’ve given up trying to deliver it. Now it is just easier to deliver personally.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.