LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Chimneys Rule OK!

What I would give to have a chimney with a real fire lit underneath it. A YouTube video of a wood fire complete with sound effects is no substitute. The video adverts we see of a room setting where there is a settee and a coffee table in front of a blazing fire and a person lounging warm while reading a book should be me. Instead, even if I have the settee, the coffee table and the book, I have only metal radiators to look at and these are only hot for a few hours every day to keep the temperature of the house above freezing. It’s a poor do really. I think back to my childhood where our fire burned in cold weather day and night if it was stoked properly. The rest of the house might have been freezing but there was always one room which felt wonderfully cosy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.