LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Belle of the Ball

My white hyacinth is the belle of the ball today when the thought of trudging out in the drizzle to find a blip is, to put it mildly, distasteful. I did venture out this morning when the weather looked more customer friendly to meet up with one of the Merry Widows and hear about her recent stay in hospital. She was lucky to escape and so we celebrated by sharing a Christmas bun. High living indeed - we certainly know how to spoil ourselves!

To fill the hours after lunch I have been sticking cocktail sticks in avocado stones and suspending them in water in the hope that in 20years I will have my own avocado tree. The one I started with at least a month ago has now at last a little root growing and the seed is making an upward attempt to produce a stem to reach out of the stone. You can see why  it might take at least two decades to produce even a tree far less a fruit. I fear that is beyond my life span but I could always leave it in my will.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.