Roadmap Out Of Lockdown Step 4b - Day 9

Christmas at the RUH, Bath

A very long and fraught day. My life would make a great soap opera script! Been up since 3.30am, mum very unwell. At 4.30am we both did Lateral Flow tests, thankfully negative. At 6.30am I phoned 111. At 7.30am a doctor phoned. At 9am an emergency GP came to see mum. She has to see her own GP urgently on Monday.

Phoned hospital to cancel mum’s 11am visit, they didn’t want me to visit dad either as there was sickness in the house. Dad still very unwell. Spent five hours, with the remote help of my brother in Singapore, trying to find a way to get a bag of personal items to dad in hospital, without having to leave mum on her own. In the end, at 3pm, my friend K very kindly dropped her plans and drove me into Bath to a deserted hospital, where I dropped off dad’s bag at the ward door, I wasn’t allowed in. He is more settled now but they are still no nearer to finding the cause of the problem. 

Back home to my other patient to try and tempt her to eat something. Mind you, don’t know that I fancy much to eat either, don’t think I can even be bothered to open my Strictly Final bottle of bubbles. Shows just how tired I am! Keeeep dancing!

Take care, stay safe well...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.