Marionb

By Marionb

No Vacancy..

A lazy Saturday by the fire while the snow fell ...all day....It was a day of reading, wrapping gifts and working on my 2021 Photobook..between jumping up to take photos of birds at the feeders and squirrels playing in the snow!

I called the Town of Whitby Bylaw Officer this week to ask about the new No-Feeding-Animals-in-Your-Back-Yard law...and found that yes, it is OK to still feed the birds..just not the squirrels and chipmunks and rabbits..... which was a great relief seeing as how all those not-to-be-fed animals dine at and under my bird feeders, so I guess technically I am not actively feeding them and that makes OK? Or just that coyotes do not like bird seed?   

So out I went and immediately erected two additional feeders and filled them all to the brim... and voilà..today, in a snowfall, hungry finches came out of nowhere! They were actually fighting for a perch! It was endless blip-ops..but unfortunately it meant shooting through a window and falling snow with the breeze blowing the feeders to and fro...but why not blip anyway? Although they may not be sharp and clearly focused, those birds were the main attraction of the day..

The squirrels of course were dining too..especially on the peanut feeder.. but mostly they were dashing about, chasing each other like little kids  playing in the snow! This one particular squirrel seemed to actually want me to notice..and he was everywhere...and even came ploughing through the snow up onto the deck to check me out as I stood in the open patio door with camera...( extra) 

I can see that I will be spending part of the evening outside shovelling the driveway, as my hired snow removal fellow has not shown up yet..but I need the fresh air and the exercise...I guess....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.