The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

The Old Forge (Sunday 19th December 2021)

I've had my trusty microwave oven since the early 1980s when I was living in Crouch End, and it moved with me to Chesham and then to here in Calne. It was a Sharp and had a proper mechanical bell that rang mellifluously at the appropriate moment. Now everything makes a horrible unpleasant beep.

Its life sadly came to an end when the knob that controls how long it's on for came loose and it stopped doing anything. Although I have a mini-oven that includes both grill and microwave I soon realised that if I was using that to bake or grill I was constantly needing to use a microwave at the same time.

After lengthy research I settled on this Swan, because C. has and likes one just like it, only in orange, and an order was placed for it while I was in Trowbridge on Friday and had been able to learn about hers at first hand.

It arrived this morning and has been installed in the midst of some matching units in the kitchen, though I have yet to give it a maiden run.

L.
Sunday 19.12.2021 (1617 hr)

Blip #3558 (#3308 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #000
Blips/Extras In 2021 #213/265 + #091/100 Extras
Day #4286 (983 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2700 (#2540 + 160 in archived blips)

Old Forge series
Diary Blip series
Recent Purchases series

Taken with Pentax K-50 (Red) and Sigma AF 17-70mm F2.8-4 DC Macro HSM lens

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Brian Wilson - Surf's Up (recorded at home in Bel Air, Autumn 1967)
Guy Garvey played this demo on his show today. The record company was considering dropping the Beach Boys because of his mental health problems and erratic behaviour. When they visited him, he performed solo on piano this new song he was working on, Surf's Up, and they went away satisfied. The song, which has a beautiful but very complicated lyric by Van Dyke Parks, was recorded by the Beach Boys on their 1971 album of the same name.

One year ago:
The Old Forge

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.