The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Sells Green (Monday 19th December 2022)

This trip to the Kennet and Avon was something of an emergency restorative project following a somewhat traumatising day. I had a late picnic lunch there including sandwiches, Christmas cake and still lemonade on a bench seat, watching the swans, activity on the moored narrowboats, the many towpath walkers and the sun making patterns on the boats.

I had woken up in inky blackness to a power cut which I couldn't override at the RCD, and a search for the source led me into my recently refurbished outbuilding. When I stepped inside my foot sank into a couple of inches of icy water. The thaw at the weekend had burst three pipes in the outbuilding loo, despite the frost-warmer which had failed at just the one job it had to do, and the pipes had been gushing out water ever since, doing untold damage to all the contents within.

A plumber was called and came in to turn off the water supply half-an-hour later but I was still without power (heat, light, telephone, internet, hot water, fridge/freezer etc.) until they returned at lunchtime and found how to isolate the outbuilding from the rest of the ring main.

Nothing else could be done until insurance matters were sorted out, my first claim from them after many years. I was able to sort out the claim details over a long phone call later that afternoon. By this time most of the water had drained away, leaving a damp room and loo, but the insurers cannot do a site visit until the Thursday after Christmas so I can't do much of a clean up. They had 149 more urgent claims to deal with that involved homes rather than ancillary buildings.

L.
Wednesday 21.12.2022 (1820 hr)

Blip #3786 (#3536 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #000
Blips/Extras In 2023 #221/265 + #096/100 Extras
Day #4651 (1124 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2927 (#2767 + 160 in archived blips)

Taken with Pentax K-50 (Red) and Sigma AF 17-70mm F2.8-4 DC Macro HSM lens

Sells Green series
Canals series
Landscape series
Outdoor Places I Have Sat In series
Kennet and Avon Canal series

A Visit To Sells Green, 19 December 2022 (Flickr album of 13 photos)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
The Specials, Paris Theatre, London, 15th December 1979 for the Radio One In Concert programme
R.I.P. Terry Hall (19 March 1959, Coventry - 18 December 2022)
I had the good fortune to witness The Specials, for whom Terry Hall was the lead singer, and the Selecter, another fabulous Coventry Two-Tone act, at this BBC In Concert radio recording in the tiny Paris Theatre off Lower Regent Street, while I was working for the BBC.

One year ago:
The Old Forge (New Swan microwave)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.