Winter Solstice Swim

With today being the Winter Solstice, it was fitting that I should wade into the sea at Porty to celebrate the occasion.
I was not alone, as I dipped and bobbed around in the water (7.1° should you be remotely interested), I had my hardy Tuesday friend by my side. It’s de rigour that we do it the hard core way without wet suits, just gloves and socks - wet suits are for cissies, which means 8 minutes floundering about for me and transcendental mediation for Sue is sufficient time before our extremities fail to respond.

Today, it was back to her house for hot chocolate, mince pies and a hot water bottle under the jersey.

It was such a lovely way to spend the grey, dark shortest day of the year that it was hard to get a phone call when I got home telling me that one of my book group had died very suddenly this morning. I can’t really get my head around a friend dying so suddenly with no warning. Christmas will forever be ruined for that family……

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.