Winter Solstice 2022

Winter Solstice today and so hard to leave a cosy bed in the dark and cold, but the days will lengthen during the next week and before we know it, it will be summer.How’s that for positive thought from a person bordering a little on the negative?

I was astounded to be given a box of Lindt chocolates by the Sainsbury’s management this morning for my custom. On this occasion I had only purchased a bottle of shampoo but I suppose over 12 years my spending in this little local branch has mounted up. I do feel a little guilty that I am forsaking them more and more for Lidl.

Later I took some pressies to my swimming partner to thank her for being kind enough to go out of her way to take me to the beach twice a week. We enjoyed a coffee together and a brief chat with her husband. Sue and I both have the same cough so sometimes things sounded like a respiratory duet in the horn section of the orchestra.

I went to Poundland in the afternoon to buy the tiny cheesy biscuits they stock for guests to eat instead of crisps. I came back with J cloths, a sellotape dispenser, some white sticky labels and a box of Ferrero Rocher chocolates but no cheesy biscuits. I had forgotten them altogether.
If my brain were a computer, I would be binning it and buying a new model.

My blip is of the chocolates and the cloth, of which I was greatly taken, on Sue’s kitchen table

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.