The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Cuil Bay

The shortest day of the year. I woke when J visited the bathroom,  and thought it must be about  4 am.because it was do dark. In fact, it was 7.30!

After breakfast we messed around with the Christmas tree and chatted, then the cleaners came and I helped them sort out the table, which was an unholy mess. Then we got back to decorating the tree, after lunch, and suddenly it was time to go out for a walk before it was completely dark. That's the way it rolls. 

J and I walked to the bay, and round the headland. There is a small croft there with a garden stuffed with lobster creels. I will try to put it in extras. From the very first time we visited the bay in 1974 I thought the rea was reminiscent of the scenery of Ring of Bright Water, the 1968 film. In fact Gavin Maxwell's place, Camusfearna, was further north, but the feeling remains. I'm getting to know this area again. We lived in the village of Duror as a family from 1974 to 77, then moved to Loch Etive side. My mother remarried in 2015 and moved back to Duror, so I'm staying in the Highland village of my childhood.

My sister M came round with fresh hens' eggs and a present for my mother: a framed photograph set from her brother of black and white portraits of their parents: one weaving and the other operating a pole lathe. I never knew my grandfather somked cigarettes! Thought he was a pipe man.

I made scrambled eggs for my mother's tea and a fritatta for J and I. We watched Midsomer murders and I discovered a mouse in my bag of gluten free treats! It didn't stay there long. My sister M, also known as Mouse, is going to bring some traps. 

I also discovered that Lochaber Care will offer volunteer driver lifts from Duror to Fort William, and that there is a hairdresser in Duror. All valuable information. It's been a great day, and I've had fun too, and the house is warm and full of cheer. My mother appears to love having visitors

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.