Capital adventures

By marchmont

Midwinter

It's only the hard core regulars who are at the pool now, which means more space!

Spoke to the girls this morning. It was the winter solstice festival and they were next door. Amelia asked if I could come to her house tomorrow. Sadly, I can't. Meanwhile the 3 days of nonstop rain has caused terrible flooding not only in the monsoon area in the east bit also on the western side of the peninsula. #2 son has been helping with the relief effort. It looks pretty bad in his photos and the BBC video.

I headed to town for the first time in ages. Roadworks and closed roads made it a slow journey. Had a peruse of JL and then off to le coiffeur. He was on his own in the salon so it was very quiet.

My thoughts of an arty present were scuppered as the gallery is shut. Same for my last minute thoughts of a trip to the Botanics. It was a cold, dreich day so it was an evening in, listening to the news about the changes coming on Boxing Day, announced by the FM this afternoon. That is going to affect a lot of people but probably not me.

Iced the Christmas cake but I'll need to keep it away from Willow.  Discovered my favourite chipper burned down, a month ago. Hey ho, luckily no one was hurt. Didn't stop me having a chipper tea though.

I used to get really excited about Christmas. I just don't be able to get the enthusiasm this year but I did write my shopping list for tomorrow.

Watched 'The Girl Before'. Last episode tomorrow, not 'White Christmas'.

At least summer is one day closer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.