Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Straight Up

My Oystercatcher here was with it's mate and they were hungry - as you can see! Straight up..no messing!

Loads of household chores done this morning whilst awaiting the arrival of the car. As my gear box has gone No 1 daughter is 'sharing'. Being a lovely sunny day but windy and bitterly cold out of the sun I'd no idea where to go or what to blip. Went online and saw to my great excitement that the Cranes at Slimbridge had been displaying and making a nest!!! JOY! I really couldn't get there quick enough!

Everyone there was agog with the news and everything - the cranes, the nest, was visible from the Martin Smith Hide....allegedly!!! Well.. straight up not a Crane in sight..nothing.. from any hide at all. Completely deflated I set about taking other shots.

Approached by a young man who asked me if I'd seen the Little Ringed Plover in another Hide, I went and found it miles away! Took a few shots of this pin sized dot in the distance. Seem to have been stalked by Little Egret s recently and today was no exception. Loved this shot of the Oystercatcher though and so pleased I could get in so close. Interestingly after they had caught a worm they took it to the water's edge to eat it but this was down a slight bank and out of view unfortunately but their other grubs and insects were eaten straight away. No idea why!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.