Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Yolanda

Meet Yolanda.

I have been on cat feeding duty today with our friends being on holiday. The two Siamese cats rushed up to me mewing wanting food and cuddles - lots of them! I would normally do this trip on the bike but a 13 mile round trip with a bitter wind and a dusting of snowflakes did put me off..just a tad! Borrowed the car and took the camera just in case there was a blip moment.

Yolanda and her brother Shark were named after the 2 reef dives at Ras Mohammed, off Sharm El Sheikh in the Red Sea. We all went on holiday together in 2002 and these dives were particularly mind-blowing so much so the cats were named accordingly!

We dropped off the boat into what was to be a drift dive with 800m of water, inky black underneath the boat. The current was against us but eventually we reached the face of a wall and at a depth of about 25m came across the cargo of a Cyprian freighter which sank in 1980. In the poor visibility we could see and photograph toilets ..... loads of them.... just littering the reef floor along with bath tubs and pipe tubes.

It was quite amusing until the four of us turned to go back to the boat. The current had turned too so we had about 300m to swim against it ....yet again! It was one of those moments! I remember vividly finning really hard, as hard as I could and just not moving forward more than an inch at a time - quite scary and knackering!
Not a dive I will forget in a hurry and with Yolanda here to remind me I obviously won't!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.