Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Frost and honey

The first thing I want to say is a huge thank you for all your lovely comments and observations yesterday.  I can't tell you how much better I felt for reading them.  We all know blippers are lovely people, but they can still surprise you ;))

So, this morning.  A most glorious walk round the reserve.  The sun on the frost; the wrens and goldcrests, the 'flying teaspoons' (LTTs); a heron overhead with his head tucked in and his long wings vanishing behind the willows.  And my old friend the male sparrowhawk so high up in the tallest alder I wouldn't have known it was him if I hadn't had my long lens to look through.

But this honey-coloured duck, already partnered up ready for spring, was the one who really stole my heart.  Where her feathers showed white she looked almost frosted. Isn't she wonderful?

And talking of frost, I've put a couple of icy shots in Extras.  It's nearly 2022 and we can't have the last spare shots going to waste!

Many thanks to Cailleach for continuing to host WildWed 299.  And wishing you a happy evening and a great Thursday  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.