Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

The Big Issue seller

This is Monica, one of our most regular Big Issue sellers.  She featured in one of my blips a few days ago.

No, today I didn't go into town (in the shopping sense), but did cross the top of the precinct on my way to deliver a last Christmas card.  That was when I heard a voice calling, 'Darling, copy of Big Issue please,' and knew I'd been nobbled.  So of course I stopped so she could sell me one and I could get my blip.

I say a last Christmas card, but it was actually the penultimate one.  A dear friend is still missing his and I'm hoping he won't mind getting a New Year card instead ;(

Actually, it could well be New Year before we get our Christmas.  Things are going from bad to worse for this family.  K is still not able to eat more than thin soup and possibly a banana. T may be coming to us with J because although she can get to her family in Essex she won't be able to get back to start her Boxing Day shift at 7am.  And J rang me to say he's ill - another flu-ey cold he thinks but obviously covid is the elephant in that room.  His sickness stopped him getting his booked booster this week.  He's managed a PCR test but may not get the results back before Saturday.  And he can't get a lateral flow test for love nor money!

He's very efficient.  I hope he can get it sorted.

I did suggest we had Christmas one day next week instead but so far that's not a popular suggestion.  Meanwhile the fridge and the freezer are full to the rafters but no-one's eating.  What a nightmare!

How are your Christmas preps going?  I do hope better than ours ;))

xx

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.