The Flash

A very grey day. Nevertheless this afternoon I took myself on a short trip to Pennington Flash.
It is the 40th anniversary of the opening of this country park, and very popular it is too. Like the other Wigan flashes this flash was created by subsidence caused by coal mining, in this case from the nearby Bickershaw Colliery. I imagine that the adjacent Leeds Liverpool Canal did not originally sit so high above the surrounding landscape.
The flat grey of the sky was matched by the flat grey of the flash. Best to embrace the grey on a day like this.
I always carry my bin’s with me when I am out and about. So they are here for foreground interest. With the coal workings long gone nature has taken over, this is always a good place to see “what’s about”.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.