An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

From on high....

Well from the landing to be precise :-))

I am having difficulty believing that Christmas Day is on Saturday.  Time is flying by.  I don't even have that much left to do other than find space in the fridge for the supermarket shopping arriving tomorrow, but I still have a sense of slight panic!

D and I have set about four alarms each on our phones with reminders to pick up the order from the Butchers tomorrow morning otherwise there will be no Christmas dinner or no breakfast for guests on 27th! 

A last minute flurry of deliveries, which I assumed were all for me as I do all the Christmas shopping.  I was wrong and inadvertently opened what I think is David's gift for me.  Oops! If  I don't receive it on Christmas Day you will find me digging out my Joni Mitchell cd and playing out the Emma Thomson bedroom scene in Love Actually!   Anyway I re-sealed it as best I could and left it beside the delivery of Lola's dog food.  Hopefully he'll just think it was damaged in transit.  Watch this space!

Louise, my wonderful cleaning lady was here today.  I honestly don't know what I would do without her.  She has left the hall floor gleaming and smelling of French soap.  Everyone is under threat of death of leaving any muddy footprints on it between now and Christmas Day.  

Got sad news this evening that my Auntie Maisie is very ill.  Not covid, just old age.  Will try and get hold of her son Stephen tomorrow.  I am so sorry that we are so far away.  I had hoped we would see her next summer (Covid put paid to her visits north the last two years) but now it seems unlikely I will see her again.  I can't quite comprehend that. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.