Mono Monday: Week 413 ...

... Blessed.

Sorry, Laurie54, but I can't go with a rhyme today ... because I'm truly blessed.  

So it's official ... I'm diabetic.  I had an appointment with an endocrinologist today and he confirmed that I have Type 1 diabetes. Sigh.

Richard went with me for support ... hence being blessed.  He has been my rock for our entire marriage but especially for all my medical issues. This new diagnosis wasn't really a huge surprised given the fact that I had to have half (the tail) of my pancreas removed earlier this year. But it's all so overwhelming right now.  

The endocrinologist, Dr. H., was wonderful as was his staff.  They showed me how to do the finger stick so that I can check my blood glucose levels a couple of times a day.  And then showed me how to give myself insulin injections.  I'm to do the injections once a day until otherwise instructed. They gave me some supplies to take home that should last me a couple of weeks and called in prescriptions for future supplies.  Just one more thing to add to my daily routine. 

After leaving the doctor's office we went to Sam's Club to pick up a few things.  We recently renewed our membership there.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.