The second book

Well, it was going to be the first book, but it was overtaken by the second book, which came out in May this year. And thus it became the first book, so this is now the second book. You follow me? The key difference is that this book was published by Unbound, so it was crowd funded. We are incredibly grateful to the people who made that happen, quite a few of whom are blippers.

The books arrived at lunchtime. I guess I knew they were on the way, but I hadn’t really thought about it too much, so it was a surprise when there was an unexpected knock on the door.

We’ve had a very pleasant day - apart from receiving parcels. We took a trip to Craigleith retail park this morning so that Mr A could get himself an external hard disk. After I did some exercise, we headed down to the Vaults, because after all we needed a new bottle of whisky for Christmas, didn’t we? In fact, we came away with two and were also full of burger/haggis and a wee dram. I’ve decided I’m now avoiding beer. The coldness of it makes me cough, but I discovered that a pot of earl grey with a whisky chaser actually worked really really well. Our first expedition as newly minted members. It would probably be good if not all our expeditions there were quite so expensive :-(

Since then, we’ve been chilling in the winter sitting room - i.e. Mr A’s room, where our sofa is currently residing. I don’t find it quite as comfortable as my chair, but as it is warm (actually too warm) it makes more sense.

I added an extra. I bought petrol for the car for the first time since September, as we are due to make a journey on Monday. Oof. What an increase in the price since I last bought it….(and I thought that was a bit pricey as I bought it at the Coop in Broadford on Skye which isn’t the cheapest place…). But at least I was correct in the prediction I made when there were shortages in September/October. They wouldn’t bother us because we wouldn’t need fuel until Christmas. Had we not been going away, what we had in the tank would have lasted us well into the new year….

The holidays are here. That means hibernation, taking it easy and sleeping just as much as I fancy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.