Heroes

Oh dear. A day of grindingly dull, dark, wet, disgusting weather. December in Scotland at its worst. 

I was at the farm shop bright and early to re-fill my fridge, so I suppose the day was no different to most such days in my weekly routine. The cafe in the farm shop came next. 

The robin (see last week’s Blip) was on my tray helping itself to the crumbs. It prefers (normal) mincemeat pies to (vegan, gluten free) brownies. By next week I think it will be eating from my hand.

After that, I stopped off at the deli in Falkland to pick up a few more necessities. Tonic water. Cider. That kind of thing. As I often do, I added one of their homemade sandwiches to my basket. This is where it got interesting, for me at least. 

Whilst not labelled as such, in effect it was a meatball hero with some jalapeños added in. Meatball heroes were one of our staples when Junior was a boy. He absolutely loved them. 

Of course the tomato sauce would squirt out in all directions as he ate, so I had to dress him in a binbag for the occasion. By the time he finished the sauce would be covering his face from ear to ear, and he was as happy as a pig in sh*t.

I found a recipe for them which is pretty close to mine, but Gennaro’s bread is a bit puny. A whole baguette or ciabatta is just about right to split between father and son for a nice wee lunch snack.

Gennaro

It was quite a lot of cooking to make them, but I would always have enough meatballs and sauce left over to make with pasta the next day, so in that context it was well worth it. 

I really loved my sandwich today. Delicious food and happy memories.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.