Not an Emergency Blip

....since its way too early in the evening for that! But it is a TIRED blip! 

I had the grandchildren today - picked them up at 10 am. My son had the day off today (his wife was at school - she's studying to be a hairdresser) and he desperately needed the time to get ready for Christmas. So off we went to my house. It was a surprisingly nice day - no rain for a change, but we had things to do! Odette, who's 8, remembered that every year we make something for her family members, including her other grandmother. Today she chose to make little sachets - I've got tons of supplies: the sheer bags, lavender flowers, cinnamon sticks, little pinecones and dried rose petals. She loves doing it and made one for everyone she could think of. 

Meanwhile, yesterday a friend at Pilates gave me a mini loaf of lemon poppy seed bread and I was struck by a memory of my mom making cranberry nut bread for her friends for Christmas. She'd wrap them up in tin foil, put ribbons and tags on them and we'd go deliver them just before Christmas. I also remember that she would have a couple of spare loaves in the front hall in case someone dropped by with a Christmas present that she hadn't anticipated. If she wasn't home, her instructions were to give the person the gift. 

Remembering that, I set out today to make cranberry nut loaves...but small ones (she used to bake full sized ones...I don't know how she had the time to do all that!) Both kids were fascinated and very helpful. We had a blast, and ate most of one with whipped cream cheese spread on top. So here are several, ready to be distributed! A lovely memory that I think I shall continue! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.