Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Through The Door Blinds

The theme that host Ingeborg set out for today is 'using tangible visible aids'.  I awoke as the sun had just cleared the mountains in the cloudless sky.  The sun shone brilliantly through the normally white linen blinds.  This was exactly what I was hoping to see when I had them hung: the glorious morning sun beaming through the their translucence.  Perfect, I thought,  for today's abstract challenge.

Yesterday, I posted my rendition of The Christmas Song (aka Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire) which I am so glad you liked!

Whenever I think of roasted chestnuts, I think of my Dad.  I don't know where the tradition of roasting chestnuts for Christmas began but I do know it was a tradition in our family. This is the way I learned to prepare them:
1. slice an X through the outer shell of the chestnut;
2. soak them in lightly salted water for an hour;
3. spread them onto a cookie sheet and bake at 350 for (eek, forgot how long).

When I was a wee child, my Dad decided he would take on the CHALLENGE of the CHESTNUTS.  Things seemed (as told later by my Mom) that things were moving right along. But when Dad opened the oven to check on them, the chestnuts exploded onto his bare chest. As the story goes, he didn't know he had to cut the X into each. So when the moisture inside the nuts heated and expanded...POW!  He left the chestnuts up to my Mom from then on.

Merry Christmas Eve Eve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.