a lifetime burning

By Sheol

...but instead, it just kept on raining

Its Christmas Eve and there's no sign of snow here, rather it is mild and very wet.  I popped out to Chew this morning, to try to get a shot of an outdoor something or other.  I eventually spotted a female grey wagtail, which is my main shot.  

Although she is called a grey wagtail you can see that she has lovely distinctive lemon yellow under her tail. The tail is also longer than those of its cousins the pied and yellow wagtails. 

While I was busy taking photos of her, I caught a flash out of the corner of my eye and saw, downstream, the kingfisher that I've added as an extra.  Its significantly cropped as it was a bit too far away.  Unfortunately, the weather meant that it really was very dark - and I pushed the ISO up to 3200.  I did get some shots of it fishing and in flight but at 1/1600s exposure was nowhere near fast enough to get a sharp enough image of it for me to want to post any of them, I'm only really posting the Kingfisher as I so rarely see them.

I've also added an extra of a cormorant coming in to land on the lake.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.