Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Christmas Eve

It doesn't feel like Christmas. I know I said this last year but it just seems flatter than last year and the grey skies don't help - we are missing the sunshine in the Swiss Alps, apparently they have had a week of non stop sunshine there this past week.

Last night my niece and her family cancelled coming to us on Boxing Day as her husband is suffering with the super cold and they don't want to infect the rest of us. I think between the super cold and Covid many families have had a change of plans this Christmas.

First thing this morning, Gavin and Luke went to Waitrose to collect the Christmas meats order, and the salmon that was ordered from the fish counter. They said it was unbelievably quiet, nothing like in previous years, and they were in an out within minutes. I remember a few years ago the queues were horrendous and the staff were handing out free Quality Street sweets to keep everyone smiling as they stood in long queues. Luke, Adam and Gavin then left to play golf. I made the cranberry sauce, set the dining room table for Christmas lunch tomorrow, and placed my presents under the tree, and then Xena and I had a walk.

After my walk I made a herb chicken casserole that we are having for dinner tonight, it is a lovely recipe and very tasty. I feel like relaxing tonight so I am pleased that it is done and I don't have to cook tonight. Tomorrow I am cooking the Christmas dinner but I am sure the boys and Gavin will help. 

Wishing everyone a very happy Christmas, and a healthy, Covid-free, new year. I am especially thinking of my friends who have very recently lost a member of their immediate families, and can only imagine how awful this Christmas will be for them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.