Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Happy Christmas!

Happy Christmas to everyone, I hope that it has been a special day for everyone even if you have had empty seats at your table today.

Cooking the Christmas dinner is all about timing, isn't it? I plan the finish time and then work backwards to when everything needs to happen. I made the trifle first thing this morning - I use amoretti biscuits instead of sponge cake and so I don't like to make it too early as it is good when there is still a bit of a crunch. Adam cooked breakfast for everyone - smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, which was delicious with a dusting of paprika. Then we opened presents - what can I say, we were all thoroughly spoilt and I was very impressed by the thought the boys had put into their presents I taught them well. I was taken aback by my present from them which was a photography day in London with Light and Land for a date in January. Even Xena got a doggy toy that she seemed to love so much she ate the face off it in about 10 minutes!

I then started cooking lunch - a stuffed turkey crown, stuffed rolled leg of lamb, roast potatoes, roasted parsnips and carrots with maple syrup, stuffing, pigs in blankets, and brussels sprouts with pancetta and chestnuts (a la Nigella). I made enough so that there was plenty to eat but thankfully we won't be eating turkey for the next few days.

In between we had long video calls to family, to my brother and sister in South Africa, and to Gavin's brother in Canada. It has been a wonderful family day and we feel blessed to have family to share this day with. 

And of course a family photo to celebrate being together today. The person on the left is Tommy auditioning for a role in Hiawatha, he has moved on from the Passion Play - I am told the hair is a temporary phase - please make it very temporary! Did I mention that I would like him to get his hair cut?!! And I could not leave the princess out, she wanted her own Christmas message, as seen in the extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.