Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Boxing Day

It rained all night and this morning everything was very wet and waterlogged, but so mild. After breakfast we went for our traditional Boxing day walk, but as it was so wet and muddy we decided not to bother going somewhere different and so we walked from the house to our local woods, stopping for a photo as seen in the extras. The dogs in the woods were all muddy and a particularly dirty Goldie who had been wallowing in a deep, muddy puddle decided to shake off all over Luke!

Back home we had a lunch of leftover turkey, pâtés and cheeses on bread rolls and the fresh loaf of Nordic seed bread I had just made. After lunch we played some board games, I requested Cluedo as I don't like playing Monopoly which always gets too competitive! As we have not played Cluedo in a while here is Adam checking on the rules to remind us how to play the game.

Today was the day my niece should have joined us, but had to cancel due to her husband having suspected Covid, and we had planned a special lunch of salmon en croute - we will now have this for supper instead, Luke is making it and we have got gluten free pastry and dairy free crème fraiche so I can also eat it. 

I have enjoyed having time to look at my Christmas presents today - Tommy gave me the latest recipe book from Marcus Wareing (it's a tradition to get the latest one each year from him) and there are some inspiring recipes in there. Now we will watch some Christmas TV, I am so pleased the light and fluffy Emily in Paris is back again for a second season on Netflix, it is sheer escapism.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.