Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Christmas Day

Happy Christmas to everyone! Whether you were able to celebrate with family and friends or not, I hope that today has been a special day for you.

Gavin and I were up early, I made the trifle (as I decided not to make it last night as it would 'sink' too much) and then we placed the presents under the tree. The boys got up and we exchanged presents around the tree, Santa was very generous and even Xena got a present - see extra. Adam then made a delicious late breakfast of spicy scrambled egg with salmon on toast. After breakfast Luke took Xena for a long walk to the woods while I started getting the Christmas dinner ready. 

As we had breakfast just before midday we planned to eat our Christmas dinner late, a sort of lunch/supper - we ate just before 4pm. The meal was delicious - turkey, lamb, roast potatoes, roast carrots and parsnips, roasted brussels sprouts with bacon, red cabbage, pigs in blankets, stuffing....and then the trifle. Adam made us laugh as he got a large pizza plate out on which to eat his dinner as he said a normal plate was too small for such a big meal! We face timed our families in SA and now everyone is playing charades while I quickly upload my blip. We played carols all day and after lunch Tommy and Adam (both choristers when at school) harmonised with the carols and kept us entertained.

We have tidied up the kitchen and will now settle down for some Christmas TV, we missed the queens speech as it was when I was making dinner so we will watch it on iPlayer.

It was a beautiful sunny day again today, but I have not even gone outside as it has been busy all day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.