Christmas Eve

It began with work until 12. My headache has gradually got better and hopefully by tomorrow will be gone completely.

After work I walked to the allotment in my sparkly twin set, mini skirt and sparkly tights….and my wellies and wax jacket! I stopped to chat to a neighbour who I regularly chat to. When I got to the allotment the hens were in the neighbouring plot. It took me a good 15 minutes dashing about with my arms spread out wide, before I persuaded them to fly back over!! I couldn’t catch them, but once one had flown up onto an adjacent table, and hopped over the other followed. It was good to get fresh air, but the weather has been damp and drizzly.

After some lunch, Jon, mum and I popped in to Cromer for a bit of shopping. Unfortunately a coat I had seen yesterday had sold, but on the positive, a dress I tried on yesterday which was full price, was today reduced and Jon said he would buy it for me.

Back home, I dug up these tiny carrots, which we will have tomorrow. They are a little bit slug eaten - please don’t tell my family :-) they will still be edible!

So today is not the ideal day for the induction hob of my cooker to decide to go on strike. A call to Stoves - that must be the 4th one this year - and they sent an engineer. Yet they knew what the problem was, and that the engineer doesn’t carry the part. He came anyway to be sure. They are going to order a part and will then fit it whenever that will be. I am going to construct an email demanding they just give me my money back. I don’t want a fancy Stoves cooker any more. This time last year I did, but I’ve lost faith and will go back to cheaper brands that have served me well for the past 30 years. The positive is that the oven still works, so the turkey will be roasted in it tomorrow!

Notice I haven’t said that I’ve been unlucky. It is what it is. We have a single gas burner and have balanced it on top of the cooker. Tomorrow’s veg will be cooked on mum’s hob. I’m not sure I will even buy an induction hob next time - I’m thinking of keeping it simple. Any recommendations? But not Stoves please. A regular cheaper but reliable brand is what I need.

I took my ingredients nextdoor and made caramelised mixed nuts. Very pleased with my first go at it! Everyone liked them - they weren’t hard like toffee, more a soft sugar coating so maybe I didn’t boil it for long enough. Anyway, still tasty and very easy!

Mollie cooked pulled pork burritos for dinner. Very tasty and we all enjoyed it. Then we played some games and watched tv. Some veg is peeled and the turkey has defrosted. A couple of snowballs shared, and a few beers.

Merry Christmas everyone. I hope you are all able to enjoy time with family tomorrow, to celebrate and appreciate your good fortune with family and friends.

Remembering those no longer with us, those who have lost someone close during this last strange year, and others far away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.