A busy Christmas Eve

It's me. What did you expect?

Slept on and off but did fall back to sleep at 6 until 8. Got up slowly, put a load of washing on (why did I do that, it means we now have washing in the dining room for Christmas day!)then cycled up to the allotment to feed the chickens. On the way back I found a branch to decorate with my vintage glass baubles. Then i picked up the list and shopping bags, and drove in to Cromer. Lidl was empty of shoppers, and so was Morrison's and that was 10am! I was astounded, fully expecting socially distanced queues outside the shops.

Drove home along the coast and pulled in at East Runton to walk down and take a photo of the sea. It was lovely. Crisp and biting, and the sea was fierce and fiery if water can be fiery! There was a beautiful rainbow, although I couldn't get it in my picture. I was so glad I had taken that road home. Then dropped a card off at my work friend Heather's house in Sheringham, before heading home to start baking.

Then a few hours of pastry making, and mince pie and sausage roll construction. I decorated my branch, we put 'Elf' on tv, followed by The Polar Express, and chilled in the lounge playing games. We had a family Christmas eve box - these hadn't been thought of when our children were small. That was a bit of fun, and enjoyed a simple buffet for tea.

No veg has been prepared, and our dining room table is still piled up with 'stuff' that needs clearing before being laid for dinner tomorrow. There will be loads of time tomorrow.

Feeling happy to have my family around me, and thinking of Mum, Manda and her family, now so far away. Looking forward to facetime with them tomorrow.

Merry Christmas everyone. I hope you all have someone special to spend the day with. The best present anyone could wish for is to be surrounded by loving family. I'm fortunate to have one of the best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.