Driving home for Christmas...

...I can't wait to see those faces.

I actually woke at 6.30 before my alarm. I had planned to do my week 3 day 2 run. So I did. As I stepped outside in my shorts i realised it was raining...but it was too late, i was out! Running in a big circuit i returned via the front of the house and saw neighbours had their bins out. That was lucky, so i put out mums bins.

Driving home was me this afternoon. After half a day of working, followed by an emotional hour of funeral planning. As I said yesterday, I wasnt happy knowing I was leaving mum, but I was very keen to get away. Eventually leaving at 1.30 I drove through torrential rain and floods, pretty much all the way(see extra pic).

Got home, after a couple of long stops, at 6ish. News came through that Norfolk will join the rest of the south east in tier 4 on boxing day. I've lost track. Just relieved to be with my family for Christmas, unlike so many. So I feel fortunate.

Now we are checking what food we need for me to buy and do tomorrow. A short list. The turkey is defrosting. Mince pies to make, and branch to source and decorate.

Something about dad that I thought of on my drive home. He was an extremely hard working man. In the early days of their marriage, dad did 2 jobs. When he got home from his regular day job, he would then go back out in the evening. Door to door he would sell things. I assume he had contracts with different companies, as at one time he sold flatpack cardboard dolls houses that came in a flat box which was the base, and fixed together. I loved these so much. I always wanted a dolls house, after seeing my cousin Candice's amazing dolls house when I was about 3. I still long for one really!! Then there was the job selling stretch covers for armchairs, and also toilet cleaner or brushes (not sure which, I'm sure mum can correct me), using a small mirror that showed the housewife how dirty it was under the rim of her toilet. When he had his own manufacturing business, and thanks to Thatcher work was difficult to come by, dad started being inventive, and used his manufacturing skills to create things. His famous tomato stand was one of those, followed by numerous vintage motorcycle parts. He did all this to keep a lovely home for his family and ensure we had lovely holidays every year and everything we needed.

He was a dad in a million. I'm so proud of him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.