Merry Christmas x

As always on Christmas day, I was awake first, with Jon shortly afterwards. I went down to look at the turkey and work out timings, and took a cup of tea back up to bed, where I turned the tv on loudly so that Mollie would wake up. It worked! Mollie appeared with Henry at our door but for the second year running there are no longer stockings bulging with odd shaped parcels. The kids requested that last year. It didn't stop me buying the same stocking present bits, they just go under the tree now, instead of into a pillowcase on the end of the bed. We managed that creeping about for 23 years, but I can't say I miss it.

Once we were all up, and dressed up nicely, we managed a much more grown up and sedate opening of presents, and I for one can honestly say that everything I was given, was exactly what I wanted. I've felt a bit detached from the build up to Christmas this year, so today has been lovely.

I prepared and cooked dinner, including picking my tiny carrots, that I had grown in a trough. They were actually smaller than tiny (see extra) but I was pleased with them. Together with chestnuts Mollie had collected and prepared, there was at least a little homegrown on the table.

A huge turkey, enough for 12 to 15 people. There was only ever going to be 5, but for the last 2 or possibly 3 years mum and dad joined us, and I like a large turkey. Always buy a frozen one, and they have always tasted beautiful. My 25 year old failing electric oven managed really well, but a new one is on the list for as soon as I can in the new year.

I have had a wonderful day with my family today. We managed a facetime chat with Mum, Manda and family. We all toasted dad together, who loved Christmas. It was the one time of year he would have a little bit to drink, then grin all day. Much missed today, but in our hearts.

Merry Christmas to all my blip and Facebook friends. May you cherish the loved ones you are surrounded by, and look forward to a time when we can all hug each other freely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.