Environmental Abstracts

I’ve borrowed this title from an article in the new DIGIT magazine because it struck me that the work of Maarten Rots, as interviewed by Janet Haines, had things in common with the kind of image making that I’d been  working on during the last few months.  Her article is less about the artwork and more about the background and life choices of the artist and I wondered if I could write an article that was complementary.  

We had a lovely family day yesterday, when I didn’t take any photos, well apart from a phone shot of my LFT so I could read the number!  I’m pleased to say it was negative.  So seven of us, my sister, her partner and my son and family had a walk around More Hall Reservoir in the damp mist (fortunately it didn’t rain heavily while we were out) and followed that up with food, which they brought, at my house.  I didn’t take a single photo and will probably regret it.  Last year we had a Christmas Eve walk and a photo at the end.  Everyone had left by four, which suited me after my exhausting few days and I sat in the chair and drifted off into a half sleep.  I did come around a bit later and watched some tv, but settled for pate and toast rather than a cooked meal.  I think I’ve woken up with a bit more energy this morning and will probably go over to Horsforth.  This is when I’d like someone else to do the driving.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.