AnnieBScotland

By AnnieBScotland

A local institution

At the office this morning so took a few 'one street' shots on the way back.

This is Jacks the Ironmonger, a well established and well used local shop. Family owned, it has been here for at least 120 years. It is one of those shops that sells just about everything, except food - unlike Alberta's shop, in France.

Every morning at 8.30am the staff start bringing out the pavement displays. Pretty much the same all year round, apart from sledges and snow shovels in winter and garden baskets in summmer, these include the garden benches, and wheelbarrows you can see in the foreground, and the big box of brooms, as well as many other things. At 5.30pm they do it all in reverse. And they do this 7 days a week.

I took some shots from the front a few weeks ago and the owner came out and asked me what I was taking photos for. I told him about blip - not sure he beleived me, but in any case I got away with this side view today without being challenged!

I took a chance a few weeks ago and pre-ordered a new small Copenhagen guide book, due out on 2nd April and promised by 8th. It arrived today! So although it is another bright sunny day and I should be out in the fresh air, I have a feeling a cup of tea and a wee browse of the book is on the cards, until it is time for aquafit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.