The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

In Barcaldine Forest

We went for a multi-family walk in Barcaldine Forest today, and I saw cousins I hadn't seen for several years (CoVid meant that I didn't visit Argyll for two years). The loch you can see in the distance is Loch Creran.

Afterwards we went back to my sister K's house to pick up luggage then took both her boys and one of their girlfriends to catch the Glasgow train at Connel, back to their lives. Their cousin C, who is 28 today, was already on the train, and they were joined on the platform by P, who is my niece's boyfriend.

K and I went back to pick up her youngest, then we all went back to our mother's for supper and movie night (West Side Story). Unfortunately our mother didn't think much of West Side Story and thought that the gangs should have sorted out their differences over a cup of hot chocolate, instead of fighting. I tried to explain that it was a sort of 1950s version of Romeo and Juliet, set in New York, but she wasn't having any of it.

Tomorrow is our last full day. I've had some great walks, but my head hurts with the logistics of trying to accommodate the needs and wishes of the various members of our party. I'm not an especially accommodating person. It seems we've been invited somewhere in Duror for coffee tomorrow, and the invitation has been accepted, but we also plan to do a walk around Appin, and then visit my other sister's woodland croft at Ledaig, and someone else wants fish and chips, but the chip shops are in Oban...we are talking a serious number of miles here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.