Rodents rule

By squirk

On the east coast mainline

This is Torness power station at the bottom of the rainbow. I love this part of the train journey with its sea views, coastline, and bridges. I gazed out of the window until York, when I picked up my book and read until King’s Cross. I’m finding Asimov’s Caves of Steel hard going, but I’m determined to read it to the end.

The journey began early morning in the dark through mist illuminated by streetlights. Luckily, the ice of the last few days had melted. We arrived at the station with enough time to buy coffee and a millionaire shortbread (my stomach said it was too early for breakfast and there were only sweet treats on display so this was a panic purchase). Our seats were rubbish (no window) so we eyed up the table reservations and got lucky when a group of four didn’t claim the seats. YES! We were sorted from Inverness to London. The train wasn’t full at all, but it was so warm. I really wished to open a window. Darn hermetically sealed trains.

We were home by five and Juno has been clamped to us since we got in. Poor thing - we really missed him. It’s been rainy here - we can tell from all the mud on the floors. Muddy paws on the kitchen surfaces and on the piano keys, but not the bath, which I know he likes to explore from time to time.

It’s lovely to have been away and to have seen family, and it’s just as nice to be home. Juno is snoring away happily. Zzzzzzz

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.