The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Selfie Week #4 -

The Old Man and the (key of) C or perhaps alternately titled The Folksinger.

My niece took this photo of me (I know it's not a selfie - I'm breaking my own rules here) on 10/05/2012, the day I was allowed to come home following a long summer of transplant surgeries and recovery in Tampa. Apparently the first thing I did was grab my guitar (if you look closely you can see the hospital ID bracelet on my left wrist).

Hardly a professional singer-songwriter (I play badly but with great enthusiasm) I enjoy playing kitchen music with friends and the songs I write have allowed me to combine a '60s style social conscience, simple country-folk music and a habit of scribbling verse.

So, though I got left behind when reel to reel recording went out of fashion, my second "creative resolution" for the New Year will be to learn what I need to know so I can digitally record the songs I've got tucked into an old blue looseleaf binder and, like printing out my photos as my first resolution, have something a bit more tangible I can leave behind. Lord knows I ain't getting any younger ... and the adventure continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.