The Pepper Patch

By PepperG

Selfie Week #5 - The Beard and its Evolution

My last name is derived from an old French word and means "man with a beard". It shares its linguistic root with Algernon or "son of the man with a beard". I suppose that could mean I was fated to spend my life with one style or another of facial hair, but as a young man I grew it mostly to look "cool" and irritate my father (see the extra) with the additional benefit of making a statement on the times and turmoil - it was the 60s after all.

Quite a few years later this is what I wrote to sing:

Back in my younger days
they objected to my rowdy ways
and told me that my hair was much too long.
Now my hair and beard are fine but
they still don't think I toe the line,
and I doubt they understand why I sing this song.

Can't they see?
Why can't they see?
Live and let live's my philosophy.
I'm wandrin' down the road
singing my song
If they ever called you different come on along.
The beat of a different drum's just fine with me.


Tomorrow is the first day of the new year and the last day of "Selfie Week" in the Pepper Patch. Thanks for your patience as I've run amok through the Blip rules planning my resolutions (best intentions?) and scribbling a bit of an autobiography ... and the adventure (you knew I was going to say it) continues.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.